Reebok Floatride Run

National CalendarNational Results

LSU, Florida State Win NCAA Team Titles

06/16/2008 - 16:00

LSU won the women's team crown for the first time since 2003 and Florida State repeated as men's champions at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships over the weekend at Drake University in Des Moines, IA. The women's championship all came down to the final event between LSU and Arizona State. The Lady Tigers carried the stick around the track with a seasonal best time of 3 minutes, 28.33 seconds to score eight points with a runner-up finish in the race to Penn State (3:27.69). The Sun Devils were unable to keep pace with the Lady Tigers as they finished in fifth place with a time of 3:33.45, and the final score for the meet after 21 events read LSU 67, Arizona State 63. Texas A&M finished third with 48 points with Penn State placing fourth with 39 points and Texas Tech fifth with 32 points.

The LSU women have won an impressive 11 NCAA Indoor titles and 14 NCAA Outdoor titles in their history.

Let by 18-time All-American and eight time national champion sprinter Walter Dix, the Florida State men's team won its third consecutive team title in convincing fashion with a total of 52 points

The LSU men's team nearly matched the Lady Tigers by winning the men's crown before finishing in a tie for second with Auburn with 44 points. Texas finished fourth with 35 points with Texas A&M fifth with 32 points.

Dix sealed the team title for the Seminoles in winning the men's 200m for the third straight year in 20.40 seconds, four-hundredths of a second ahead of his nearest competitor. "It never gets old," said head coach Bob Braman. "The first one maybe a little bit more sweeter because you don't know if you're ever going to do it. We had gotten relatively close a couple of times. They're agonizing because the standard is so high, but at the end we're proud, we come back home, it's such a big thing for Florida State and Tallahassee."

Abilene Christian sweeps Division II titles

Abilene Christian won the men's and women's team titles at the 2008 NCAA Division II Outdoor Championships in Walnut, Calif., adding to the school's rich history of excellence in track and field.

On Saturday, the men's team earned 108.5 points, which bettered runner-up St. Augustine's by six and a half points. Ashland was third, Adams State fourth and Lincoln fifth.

On Saturday, the Wildcats won four individual men's titles - 400 (Raymond Radway, 46.35), 3,000-meter steeplechase (Daniel Maina, 8:53.61), 110 high hurdles (Billy Walker, 13.86), and discus (Nick Jones, 56.99 meters).

The women's Wildcats had no difficulty in amassing 76.5 points and finishing with a winning margin of 21.5 points over runner-up Adams State. Lincoln was third, UC San Diego fourth and Southern Illinois-Edwardsville fifth.

Abilene Christian's women won three individual titles - 400 (Keva Watkins, 54.05), 3,000-meter steeplechase (Winrose Karunde, 10:20.42) and javelin (Linda Brivule, 51.74 meters).

St. Augustine's Dennis Boone won the 100m (10.21 seconds) and 200m (20.65), and his classmate Barbara Pierre successfully defended her 2007 100m title in 11.47 seconds.

For more information and complete results, visit



Copyright © 2017 American Track & Field Athlete a Fortius Media Group, LLC Publication